Learning HTML5

Learning HTML5 is a little easier than it used to be. The amount of examples of HTML5 sites out there and even templates make it easy to see what is going on and even copy. Learn more about HTML5 here in this quick article about the latest happenings in this new web standard. From learning to make javascript draw on a canvas, to creating databases that can be used without an internet connection, the world of HTML5 is starting to look a lot like the world of programming. Part of the challenge of learning the new standard is to learn the CSS3 standard that has also come along. The new CSS standard covers creative fonts, drop shadows, text shadowing, opacity, background size, columns, multiple backgrounds, border images, rounded corners and more. The new standard can cover things that jQuery and some javascript use to cover. This makes it more flexible than past CSS versions. Another indispensable part of the total HTML5 package is the javascript language. HTML5 uses javascript to store and access data. The two elements that make this happen are “sessionStorage” and “localStorage”. SessionStorage is temporary, similar to cookies that expire. LocalStorage is permanent, to create apps or other creations that can be used without an internet connection. Javascript can be used for firing off a canvas effect for greating graphs, interactive displays, touch sensitive ( swipe action ) effects and more. The swipe action would be for touch screen devices. One of the first things to learn about HTML5 is at the top of the coded page; the document type declaration, sometimes shortened to “doctype declaration”. This is where you tell the people who are accessing your page what version of HTML you are using. If you want the browsers seeing your page to know it is done with HTML5, this is the place to say so. The next part of the HTML5 document to learn is the area between the “HTML” tags. This area is termed “element” by the W3C and their spinoff, the WHATWG. For you the developer, it is simply the area where the “HTML” starts and ends. Inside this element is the “body” tag, which has not changed from older versions of HTML. All of the basic tags in an HTML5 document did not change, from the HTML tag, to the head tag, to the body tag. The metatags also remain unchanged. One of the tags that did not get transferred over to HTML5 was the “font” tag. This was widely used in times past on earlier sites. It was somewhat displaced by stylesheets ( CSS ). If you are a web developer from days gone by you will find out that this is the main difference between the HTML4 and the HTML5 standard. HTML5 adds new tags, but the continuation is one of a larger standard, not a down-sizing of elements. The font tag, rest in peace, did not make it. Once you learn the new tags and start playing around with them in your web pages, you are set for success. Some of the new tags are; “article”, “aside”, “audio”, “canvas”, “command”, “datalist”, “details”, “embed”, “figcaption”, “figure” and others. There is a special “ruby” tag that shows Asian text symbols. If you are just starting to learn HTML5, get cracking, because the web needs this upgrade and those who early to adopt get the best results in the end.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Blogplay